How Africa Cup of Nations hosts fared

How Africa Cup of Nations hosts fared

Record of Africa Cup of Nations hosts after Egypt crashed out of the 2019 edition they are staging by losing a last-16 match to South Africa Saturday:

1957 Sudan Semi-finals

AFCON, Ighalo, Iwobi Africa Cup of Nation

Nigeria’s players celebrate their third goal during the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (CAN) Round of 16 football match between Nigeria and Cameroon at the Alexandria Stadium in the Egyptian city on July 6, 2019. AFP)

1959 Egypt Champions

1962 Ethiopia Champions

AFCON 2019: Super Eagles still need to reclaim fear factor, says Bewarang(Opens in a new browser tab)

1963 Ghana Champions

1965 Tunisia Runners-up

1968 Ethiopia Semi-finals

1970 Sudan Champions

1972 Cameroon Semi-finals

1974 Egypt Semi-finals

1976 Ethiopia First round

1978 Ghana Champions

1980 Nigeria Champions

1982 Libya Runners-up

1984 I. Coast First round

1986 Egypt Champions

1988 Morocco Semi-finals

1990 Algeria Champions

1992 Senegal Quarter-finals

1994 Tunisia First round

1996 S. Africa Champions

1998 B. Faso Semi-finals

2000 Ghana Quarter-finals

2000 Nigeria Runners-up

2002 Mali Semi-finals

2004 Tunisia Champions

2006 Egypt Champions

2008 Ghana Semi-finals

2010 Angola Quarter-finals

2012 E. Guinea Quarter-finals

2012 Gabon Quarter-finals

2013 S. Africa Quarter-finals

2015 E. Guinea Semi-finals

2017 Gabon First round

2019 Egypt Last 16

Note: Ghana/Nigeria (2000) and Equatorial Guinea/Gabon (2012) were co-hosts

Source: Vanguard

Leave a Reply

Close Menu